Differences in IIT Kharagpur over Common Entrance Test

Effects of political move have started to put over the IITs, making differences in the formats of entrance exam as opposed action over HRD Minister Kapil Sibal’s ‘one-nation one-test’ proposal.

Amongst them only Director of Kharagpur, Damodar Acharya is the one who has supported the Center’s proposal and this step is main cause of separating him from the others.

All the IITs institutions have boycott the Center’s proposal and IIT Kanpur is the first that follow it, setting its own entrance exam in 2013. All the IITs senate has much shocked with its Saturday statement “not has any objection to the Centre’s move”.

Interacting with media, in a statement, All India IIT Faculty Federation said that it was “shocked to learn that the Director, IIT Kharagapur has made public statements which are in contradiction to the resolutions made by the Senate of IIT Kharagpur.”

As per the IIT Kharagpur Senate resolution, till 2014, involvement of Class XII board marks has been objected in the entrance exam, and conduct of JEE by a third party.

“The trust that IIT-JEE has earned over the last five decades is due to the continuous evolution of processes and unflinching devotion of the faculty and staff of IITs…. Any test leading to ranking in IIT admissions must be wholly owned by IITs,” the Federation further said, as per source.

Moreover, IIT Guwahati and Delhi also criticized IIT-Kanpur Senate being acted on its shocking plan.

IITs that continuously providing trained manpower to other technical institutions India said in a statement, “Education being the state government subject need not besubjected to the tight central controls.”

Sibal who had made announcement on May 28 regarding the new format of common entrance test, will ally from 2013, taking the plus two board results into consideration, claimed that it was approved without dissent at a council consisting of the IITs, the IIITs and the NITs.

Comments are closed.