Asia Cup 2012: Resurgent India will face Bangladesh

The world champions India cricket team is all set to face the Bangladesh cricket team in Asia Cup 2012 match today at Mirpur. The Indian cricket team is full of confidence after beating Sri Lanka in their last match by 50 runs in their opening match of the Asia Cup series.

The captain of the Indian cricket team MS Dhoni could not ask for anything more than this as his team will face Bangladesh to make their ways clear to the finals of Asia Cup.

Pakistan has beaten the Sri Lanka team in yesterday’s match by 6 wickets. And they are well set in the finals.

However, before the final of the Asia Cup the big match is to be played on Sunday, when India will take on arch rival Pakistan in a high-tension match.

Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar will be the key player in today’s match, as he is under pressure due to his 100th international hundred. And Sachin has yet to score ODI hundred against Bangladesh cricket team.

Though, talking to media, the captain of Bangladesh team, Mushfiqur Rahim said, “Sehwag is not there, but there are other players who are equally good. We would like to prove that we are a decent side after all.”

Key players to watch today:

Virat Kohli: he got a superb hundred against Sri Lanka in the first match and it was his second successive century. If he will be able to hit another hundred itoday, he will be the only player from India and fifth overall, to score three successive 100 runs in ODIs.

The captain of Indian cricket team MS Dhoni will also be interesting to watch, as he is playing with an average of 99.85 in 16 innings since the World Cup including nine not outs.

Teams (from):


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Virat Kohli, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Manoj Tiwary, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Ravindra Jadeja, Praveen Kumar, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Rahul Sharma, R Vinay Kumar.


Mushfiqur Rahim (captain; wk), Abdur Razzak, Anamul Haque, Elias Sunny, Imrul Kayes, Jahurul Islam, Mahmudullah, Mashrafe Mortaza, Nasir Hossain, Nazimuddin, Nazmul Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Shahadat Hossain, Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal.

Umpires IJ Gould and PR Reiffel

TV umpire RSA Palliyaguruge

Match referee DC Boon

Reserve umpire Gazi Sohel

Match starts at 1.30 pm (IST).


Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress