Australia announce 17-member squad for Test series against India

The Australia cricket is all set to start their tour to India from February 22, and the Australian team is now coming with four spin blowers including Glenn Maxwell and Steve Smith named in a 17-man squad alongside Nathan Lyon and Xavier Doherty.

India will take on Australia in their first Test in Chennai from February 22 and the national selector of Australia cricket team John Inverarity told media that they are ready for all conditions with five spin bowlers in their team.

Talking to media, John Inverarity said, “This squad has the flexibility that will be required for the varying conditions expected in India, and it will provide valuable experience to a number of young players.”

He said, “The squad includes a spin bowling all-rounder in Maxwell and a medium-fast all-rounder in Moises Henriques.”

Australia tour of India 2013 300x168 Australia announce 17 member squad for Test series against India

Further, he said, “In aiming for more depth in a bowling attack, the squad would allow for three pace bowlers, a leading spinner and Maxwell, or two pace bowlers, the two spinners and Henriques. These are two of the options.”

On the other hand, the pace attack for Australia team will be headed by Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, James Pattinson and Jackson Bird.

John Inverarity said, “We certainly feel he is much improved in the longer format of the game since he made his Test debut in 2010-11 against England.”

He added, “He adds further flexibility to the squad, depending on the conditions.”

Australia squad for India tour, 2013

Michael Clarke (c), Ed Cowan, David Warner, Phil Hughes, Shane Watson, Matthew Wade, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Moises Henriques, James Pattinson, Xavier Doherty, Jackson Bird, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith.

Leave a Reply


  • No ‘Vishwaroopam’ on theatre, ban upholds, Haasan to move SC Jaspreet Kaur
  • HDFC cuts Auto Loan rates by a half percent point Ranjit Singh
  • Sena-MNS peace process: Uddhav Thackeray welcomes reconciliation offer on Raj Neelish Mishra
  • ‘Vishwaroopam Row’: I may leave the country if I don’t get justice, says Kamal Haasan Himmat Mehra
  • BlackBerry 10 set to launch today, a crucial day for RIM Aryan Wadhwa

Advertise With Us || Contact Us || Priyacy Policy || Disclaimer || About Us || Our Editors