DLF IPL 2012: Chris Gayle powers RCB to win

Chris Gayle IPl 2012 150x150 DLF IPL 2012: Chris Gayle powers RCB to winIn yet another cracking performance by the West Indies cricketer Chris Gayle powers Royal Challengers Bangalore [RCB] to a 9 wicket win over the Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League [IPL 2012] match Played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 9 May 2012 – day/night (20-over match).

Earlier, the skipper of RCB Virat Kohli has won the toss and elected to bowl first in the 554th IPL match against the Harbhajan Singh led Mumbai Indians. His decision to bowl first soon proved to be correct, as Mumbai lost its wickets in a quick session.

Mumbai Indians lost the wickets of opener Franklin and then in-form Rohit Sharma cheaply in the 2nd over of the match.

However, master blaster Sachin Tendulakr tried to show some hands but lost his wicket in the 9th over with 41 runs on the board. Dinesh Kartik played 44 runs knock for his team.

For RCB, Zaheer Khan was the most economical bowler though not able to get any wicket, giving just 16 runs in his 4 overs. Muralitharan, Vinay Kumar and Harshal got 2 wickets each.

Mumbai Indians [MI] made 141 runs in their 20over play with 18 runs made in the last over of the innings. Batting second, RCB looked in contrl from the start of the play, they just lost the wicket of opener Dilshan in the 9th over.

Chris Gayle was the played who one handed led his team to a 9 wickets win. Chris Gayle also becomes the first player to score 500 runs in IPL 2012. Chris Gayleis the player in the history of IPL to hit 100 sixes. In yesterday’s amtch as well he hit six sixes, scoring 82 runs facing 59 balls with five fours and six sixes with the strike rate of 138.98.

Chris Gayle was Man-of-The-Match.

RCB skipped Virat Kohli said, “To beat them at home is a good feeling for us. I wasn’t feeling too great when I was batting in the previous matches but my team-mates backed me.”

Skipper Harbhajan said, “We’re not disappointed. We havve four games. RCB won a good toss, we were 15-20 runs short. If we had taken Gayle’s we don’t know what would have happened. We are a way better side than this.”

Man of the Match Gayle gets the Orange Cap said, “(The room for trophies) is in the process of being built! Good team effort today. We knew we had to see off Malinga. We were expecting two overs up front from him but he bowled three. Haven’t hit the gym in the last few days. I will now.”


Mumbai Indians: J. Franklin c Zaheer b Vinay 1 (6b), S. Tendulkar c & b Harshal 24 (27b, 4 x 4), Rohit lbw b Vinay 0 (3b), D. Karthik c Kohli b Muralitharan 44 (39b, 3 x 4, 1 x 6), A. Rayudu c Muralitharan b Harshal 22 (17b, 2 x 4), D. Smith c Vinay b Muralitharan 2 (3b), K. Pollard (not out) 21 (13, 2 x 6), Harbhajan (not out) 20 (12b, 3 x 4); Extras (lb-5, w-2) 7; Total (for six wkts. in 20 overs): 141.

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Franklin), 2-2 (Rohit), 3-41 (Tendulkar), 4-85 (Rayudu), 5-100 (Karthik), 6-100 (Smith).

Royal Challengers Bangalore bowling: Zaheer 4-0-16-0, Vinay 4-0-34-2, Harshal 4-0-24-2, Syed 4-0-38-0, Muralitharan 4-0-24-2.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: T. Dilshan lbw b Ojha 19 (25b, 3×4), C. Gayle (not out) 82 (59b, 5×4, 6×6), V. Kohli (not out) 36 (25b, 1×4, 2×6); Extras (lb-2, w-2, nb-1): 5; Total (for one wkt. in 18 overs): 142.

Fall of wicket: 1-48 (Dilshan).

Mumbai Indians bowling: Malinga 4-0-20-0, R.P. Singh 4-0-28-0, Pollard 3-0-33-0, Harbhajan 4-0-18-0, Ojha 2-0-25-1, Rohit 1-0-16-0.

Man-of-the-match: Chris Gayle.

Umpires BF Bowden (New Zealand) and VA Kulkarni
TV umpire SK Tarapore
Match referee RS Madugalle (Sri Lanka)
Reserve umpire RM Deshpande


Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress