Vijay Bahuguna named as new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand

Getting the crown of Chief Minister as in return of amazing performance in Assembly election of Uttarakhand, Congress MP Vijay Bahuguna will today attend his swearing-in ceremony as oath at the Parade Ground in Dehradun.

“We anticipate that there is going to be a big crowd when the ceremony takes place. So we have chosen the Parade Ground as the main venue for the purpose,” official source said.

Oath ceremony will be held at 5 pm at Parade Ground on today and due to having inclement weather, it can be shifted to some indoor venue.

Continue Reading >>

Akhilesh Yadav praised Third Front idea

Akhilesh Yadav1 278x300 Akhilesh Yadav praised Third Front ideaAkhilesh Yadav who will be sworn in as Uttar Pradesh CM on 15 March remarked his thought of possibility of the Third Front in future that raised the tension from his colleagues.

While Akhilesh on Monday denied that his party was in touch with Left parties and marked a political Third Front as a good beginning, Congress had sleepless nights with a hope to stand its govt. at Centre.

Further he explained that there was no move as of now to form a Third Front, he termed its possibility a healthy development for politics.

Third Party move has beneficial for Congress which heads a troubled coalition at the Centre, failing in the assembly elections in Punjab and UP.

Continue Reading >>

UP Elections Result: Mulayam Singh will be UP chief minister, says Akhilesh Yadav

Akhilesh Yadav 300x221 UP Elections Result: Mulayam Singh will be UP chief minister, says Akhilesh YadavThe Samajwadi Party’s youth, Akhilesh Yadav, dismissing his plan for chief minister’s post, said that his father Mulayam Singh Yadav would be the UP chief minister who was more deserving and prominent as comparison to him.

Mulayam’s party has won by 224 seats on its own in the UP state as a landslide victory in elections to the 403-seat state assembly, more than 2007 when it won only 97 of the assembly’s 403 seats.

Addressing all credits to party’s leaders who gave a huge support to restructure it, junior Yadav said, “I am not in the race for the chief minister’s post. The party feels that the responsibility should go to Netaji.”

Continue Reading >>

UP Election Results: Samajwadi Party leads BJP opens strong in UP

Today is the biggest day for assembly election candidates as result of voting will be break out.

It is expected from till number of votes that Samajwadi Party is going ahead in Uttar Pradesh, while the BJP has come out as a strong gaining party.

According to Chief Electoral Officer Umesh Sinha, “Counting for all 403 seats has started at 8 am and will continue till all results are announced amidst tight security arrangements.”

Still on basis of figures for 252 seats, SP is leading in 111, BJP in 56, SP in 43 and the Congress in 28. However this time, Congress is facing ups and downs in the Mayawati-ruled Uttar Pradesh where its campaign was spread from the front by Rahul Gandhi.

Continue Reading >>

NRHM scam: Babu Singh Kushwaha, Ram Prasad Jaiswal arrested by CBI

At the final moment while seventh and final phase of UP Assembly elections ended, CBI arrested former Uttar Pradesh family welfare BSP minister Babu Singh Kushwaha in connection with NRHM scam, along with another Uttar Pradesh MLA Ram Prasad Jaiswal.

However Kushwaha was arrested under the matter of alleged financial irregularities done in the supply of medicines and medical equipment in 24 districts of Uttar Pradesh under the NRHM scheme during 2010-2011 and also making loss of about Rs28 crore in implementing the centrally-sponsored scheme meant for 72 districts of Uttar Pradesh.

But despite it, clouds of allegations is surrounding over Kushwaha as name of OBC leader is also enlisted in the murder of two former CMOs and death of another officer in Lucknow jail.

Continue Reading >>

UP Polls: Polling starts for 7th and final phase in Uttar Pradesh

Seventh, but Final Phase of Polling of Uttar Pradesh assembly elections spreading over 60 seats in ten districts started early morning at 7 am amidst tight security arrangements.

Covering Bijnore, Moradabad, Bheem Nagar, Rampur, Jyotiba Phule Nagar, Badaun, Bareilly, Pilibhit, Shahjahanpur and Lakhimpur Kheri district, more than 1.82 crore voters cast their votes to decide the fate of their franchise.

In the list of candidates, Samajwadi Party’s Muslim face Mohammad Azam Khan is on top most who is contesting from Rampur.

Continue Reading >>

UP Polls: Sixth phase polling beings in Uttar Pradesh

Sixth Phase polling UP 300x199 UP Polls: Sixth phase polling beings in Uttar PradeshAmid tight security Sixth phase of poling in Uttar Pradesh for Assembly elections started today around 68 seats spread over 13 districts.

These include Saharanpur, Prabuddha Nagar, Meerut, Bagpath, Ghaziabad, Panchsheel Nagar, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Muzaffarnagar, Mathura, Mahamayanagar and Agra.

As per the Chief Electoral Officer, “Polling for the sixth phase of elections covering 68 Assembly seats spread over 13 districts started at 7 a.m. and would continue till 5 p.m.”

Continue Reading >>

Polling ‘on’ for fifth phase in Uttar Pradesh

Today, the Assembly election in Uttar Pradesh comes in its fifth phase, covering 49 seats spread over 13 districts including Firozabad, Kanshiram Nagar, Etah, Mainpuri, Etawah, Auraiya, Ramabainagar, Kanpur, Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur, Hamirpur and Mahoba.

Polling for fifth phase began at 7am amidst tight security with installation of 981 video cameras and 2,100 digital cameras for checking any disruptive movement at 17,267 polling stations at 11,745 centres.

As per CEO, 2,104 stations have been identified as sensitive, 2,256 as hyper sensitive.

Continue Reading >>

UP Assembly Elections: Slow start for 4th phase, tough time for Congress

Fourth phase of Assembly election in UP has started today for 56 assembly seats spread over 11 districts. Three remaining phases of polling will be held on February 23, 28 and March 3.

The major fact in this polling is that today people cast their votes in State capital Lucknow and Gandhi bastion of Rae Bareli, which is Congress President Sonia Gandhi’s constituency.

More than 1.74 crore voters will seal the fate of 967 candidates by casting their votes today. Amongst them three are ministers, 32 sitting MLAs and 12 former ministers.

At this time, the competition is among ruling Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), the Congress, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party which has been ruling in Lucknow since 1991.

Continue Reading >>

UP Assembly Elections 2012: 57% voting reported in third phase

The third phase of UP Polling has been completed in the state and around 57.25 percent voters have been used their vote held in 56 Assembly seats in 10 districts of UP on yesterday.

Meanwhile, the maximum polling was accounted from Naxal-affected districts including Chandauli (62.5 percent), Mirzapur (62.4 percent) and Sonbhadra (58.25 percent).

In addition, the third phase of polling in the state is better compared to the second phase of polling [55.6 percent].

As per the reported generated by close sources about the percentage of polling in the districts was 59.20 percent in Sultanpur, 57.67 percent in Kaushambi, 57 percent in Varanasi, 56.92 percent in Allahabad, 56.44 percent in Jaunpur, 56 percent in Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj Nagar and 55.67 percent in Sant Ravidas Nagar.

Continue Reading >>


Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress