Sehwag, Zaheer return for Lanka tour, Sachin opt out

Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan2 150x150 Sehwag, Zaheer return for Lanka tour, Sachin opt outThe master blaster Sachin Tendulkar is not available for the Sri Lanka’s tour. But he will be gearing up the upcoming New Zealand tour.

The 15-member Indian cricket team has been announced yeaterday by the selectors for the upcoming Sri Lanka tour starting from July 27. The team India will play four ODIs and one T20 match in Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, the opener Virender Sehwag and medium-pacer Zaheer Khan has once again called back into the national team.

In addition, the left- arm spinner Pragyan Ojha and fast bowler Umesh Yadav also made their comeback into the team, however, Pathan brothers, Ravindra Jadeja and swing bowler Parveen Kumar left out of the team.

Pragyan Ojha will be backed up by off-spinner R. Ashwin and leg-spinner Rahul Sharma in the team, skipper MS Dhoni has three spin optins in the team now, though, regular spinner Harbhajan Singh is not included in the team.

Now, if talked about pacemen, Zaheer Khan will be supported by Umesh Yadav and also Ashok Dinda and Vinay Kumar.

After the great performance in Australia and then in IPL 2012, Virat Kohli once again named vice-captain and will provide strength to middle order along with Manoj Tiwari.

During the selection process, chief coach Duncan Fletcher, skipper MS Dhoni and selectors were present at the Cricket Center in Mumbai.

Talking to media, chairman of selectors Kris Srikkanth said after announcing the squad said, “We have the best available team. Sachin is not available. I think it is a very good side which has very strong batting line-up and good bowlers and we are confident that it will do well in Sri Lanka.”

The Team

MS Dhoni (capt, wk), Virat Kohli (vc), Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, Ashok Dinda, Vinay Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul Sharma.

Comments are closed.