UP Polls 2012: 60% voting in second phase

Voting under the second phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly election has completed today with near about 60%, 2.7% less than as compared to voting in phase first that was around 62.7%. Polling began amid tight security on a dull note but picked up as the day advanced.

60% of 1.97 crore voters gave their vote to their favorable one for 59 constituencies across nine districts in eastern UP.

Eastern UP constitutions are considered to Muslim vote because like Azamgarh, Mau, Ballia, Gazipur have a significant presence of Muslim voters. The second phase of assembly election will test the potency of the 4.5 per cent backward minorities sub quota decision.

And Congress focused on this area to get more votes and for that Rahul Gandhi had ensured to provide the Rs. 3000 crore weaver packages for Ansari weavers. Congress President Sonia Gandhi also confined to restore the judicial probe in the encounter of boys from Azamgarh at Batla House in Delhi.

However the parties’ leaders whether they were from Congress or from BSP, BJP and Samajwadi Party, all were in woo to get higher support from Muslim voters to stand in this region.

The Peace Party and the Ulema Council, who have popularity with the Muslim voters, are expected to be creating a scare amongst bigger parties like the Congress, BSP and Samajwadi Party.

Azamgarh, Gorakhpur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Maharajganj, Deoria, Mau, Sant Kabir Nagar and Kushinagar were the districts where polling had held.
Maximum 31 candidates were from Gorakhpur Urbanha district, while Saidpur had the least (10).

Voting in second phase would decide the future of two state presidents, 31 MLAs and 24 former ministers. Around 20,426 polling stations had been set up and more than hundreds police force had deployed for peaceful voting.

As per State Election Commission, the percentage was between 60-61%. Several people were trying to rule out the voting in Mau and Ballia district. The police used force to disperse such indulged voters.

Without happening of any indulged behavior, all polling was completed peacefully.

Meanwhile fate of Speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar, Revenue minister Phagu Chauhan, BSP state chief and cabinet minister Swami Prasad Maurya and state BJP head Surya Pratap Shahi was sealed in the EVMs. If anyone party get highest votes in this phase, then its chances to win will be high.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , UP Polls 2012, UP voting turnout, Uttar Pradesh Assembly election, voter turnout, voting
Army Chief V K Singh loses age battle in Supreme Court
Link Exchange With News Top Night